Area and Borders


Argentina is the second largest country in South America and the eighth one in terms of area at a worldwide level. The country´s total area is 2.791.810 km2, though there still exist claims to enforce sovereignity rights over the South Atlantic Islands region currently being under the United Kingdom´s jurisdiction, and over the Antarctic territory named after the Argentine Antarctica.

It shares borders with Bolivia and Paraguay in the Northern area, with Brazil in the Northeast region, with Uruguay in the Eastern area and with Chile in the Southern and Western regions.